My Journey Learning to Knit – Arm-Knitting

This is the post excerpt.

My knitting journey began a few weeks before Christmas 2016. I call it a journey because that is exactly what it has been. Since I started learning to knit, I have become pretty much obsessed with the knitting (and crocheting) world and have developed a deep love of all things yarn.  I am constantly working to learn as much as I can and practice new techniques as much as I can.  I am quite proud of how far I have come with my knitting abilities, although I am still a long way from moving past the “Beginner” stage.


It all started while scrolling through Facebook one day. I saw a link (posted by Maggie of SimplyMaggie.com) with a picture of a big, beautiful and luxurious looking arm-knit blanket made in just 45 minutes.  I was determined to find a way to make myself a huge, soft and fluffy blanket just like the one in the picture! 


I went to my local craft store and perused the yarn isle for a good hour or so but I couldn’t find the right type of yarn. Instead, I picked up a couple of skeins of a Bernat Blanket Big, one in the color “Big Grape” and another in the color “Teal”.  I came home, turned on Simply Maggie’s arm-knitting video tutorial and began the process of learning how to arm-knit.


Now this was my very first knitting experience so it didn’t go as smoothly as I had hoped.  The hardest part for me was learning how to cast on.  I found this video tutorial on YouTube by Elise of Revert2Simple.com.  She also has a photo tutorial on her blog here.  Elise does an amazing job teaching how to cast on, which I have to admit was the most frustrating part of learning how to arm-knit.  Once I was past the cast on, it was a much more enjoyable experience and I was hooked from that point forward.


As a newbie arm-knitter, I bought just 2 skeins of yarn to test out the new craft and the pattern to find out if I was actually going to be able to learn, as well as to decide whether or not it was something I was going to enjoy doing.  This is where I learned my first lesson in knitting; always buy enough yarn to complete the project in mind.  When arm-knitting, it is super important to have enough yardage of yarn when starting the project as you will complete it in one sitting. 


As your arms are used as the knitting “needles” when arm-knitting, you can’t just put down your needles and walk away from your work-in-progress (or WIP as they are called in the world of knitting) while you run to the yarn store to buy more.  I mean, I guess if you could find something big enough to hold the stitches then you could put them on a stitch holder and come back to the WIP later… But this was my first project and I wasn’t confident that I could put the stitches down and then pick them back up (correctly) and continue on arm-knitting at a later time.


I was able to make a blanket, yes, however the stitches were so far apart, the “holes” were HUGE! And with just a couple of skeins, I wasn’t able to make a very big blanket, instead I ended up with a lap-size blanket.

After finishing my first project, I decided I wanted to learn more and I wanted to learn how to knit with needles instead of just my arms.  My journey into the world of knitting was just beginning and my love for the craft was about to grow tremendously… more than I ever could have even imagined!

 

Author: skittle02

I am a newbie knitter learning how to knit for the first time. I am a dog lover and have 2 dogs I love with all my heart. Scrappy Doo is am 18 year old female Shih-Tzu I have had in my life for a good long time now and Ruckus is a 3 year old male Boxer who is constantly keeping my laughing with his shenanigans. I have a boyfriend of 2 years whom I am very much in love with and who is very supportive of me and my newfound love of knitting. (:

Leave a Reply

